Lawmaker Resigns, Citing Lack of Trust in Regional Govt

By Salai Thant Zin 28 August 2018

PATHEIN, Irrawaddy Region — An outspoken lawmaker of the Irrawaddy Region Parliament has handed in her resignation, citing her lack of trust in the regional legislature and government.

Daw Myint Myint San, who represents Wakema Township Constituency 2 in the regional Parliament, submitted her resignation through a third party, confirmed the speaker of the regional Parliament U Aung Kyaw Khaing.

“I heard that she is still performing her duties as a lawmaker despite her resignation. So, we’ve not yet decided what to do,” the speaker told The Irrawaddy.

The lawmaker applied for leave and did not attend the entire 12th regular session of the regional legislature from July 25 to August 3, according to the candidacy scrutiny committee of the regional Parliament.

The Irrawaddy was unable to contact Daw Myint Myint San. U Aung Kyaw Khaing said he would ask her about her resignation when the parliamentary session resumes next month. But he did not mention what he would do if the lawmaker does not attend.

“She is an active and shrewd lawmaker,” he praised.

According to parliamentary law and by-laws, a lawmaker can resign of her own volition.

“Daw Myint Myint San has served as a lawmaker since 2012 and she is an example to us. We don’t want her to resign,” Daw Ni Ni Moe, a lawmaker representing Nyaungdon Township Constituency (1), told The Irrawaddy.

Daw Myint Myint San was arrested by the military regime in 2009 due to her political activities. She spent nearly three years behind bars in Insein Jail in Yangon and Katha Jail in Kachin State.

After she was released from prison in 2011, she contested the by-election for the National League for Democracy party and won a seat in the Lower House of the national legislature to represent Irrawaddy Region’s Wakema Township.

Daw Myint Myint San also served as a member of the ethnic affairs committee, and the judicial, legal affairs and government’s guarantees, pledges and undertakings vetting committee of the regional Parliament.

Translated from Burmese by Thet Ko Ko.