Bipartisan Transition Committee Holds First Meeting in Naypyidaw

By Tin Htet Paing 16 December 2015

RANGOON — A cross-party committee formed to oversee the transition to the next government has held its first meeting in Naypyidaw, with National League for Democracy Leader (NLD) Aung San Suu Kyi telling those assembled that she believed the transfer of power was on track to proceed smoothly.

Wednesday’s meeting was held at the offices of the Union Parliament’s Rule of Law Committee, which is chaired by Suu Kyi, and revolved around how the government’s ministries will hand over their responsibilities, ahead of the NLD’s preparations to take office following the party’s emphatic election win on Nov. 8.

“Further discussions will continue in the coming days, and the committee will likely meet about four days per week in order to discuss the power transition,” said Win Htein, an NLD spokesman and member of the committee.

The committee is comprised of members of President Thein Sein’s outgoing administration and senior NLD figures, with the next meeting to be chaired by Win Htein ad Union Minister Hla Tun. Others on the committee include Information Minister Ye Htut, President’s Office Minister Zaw Htay, Maung Maung Ohn of the Ministry of Construction, former Rangoon University rector and future NLD lawmaker Dr Aung Thu, and NLD central executive committee member Dr Myo Aung.