Three More Countries Ratify UN Nuclear Weapon Ban Treaty

By Kyodo News 7 August 2020

NEW YORK—Three more countries completed ratification procedures for a UN-adopted nuclear weapon ban treaty Thursday, bringing the number of countries and regions that have ratified the pact to 43. A total of 50 countries are required to do so for the pact, which was adopted in 2017, to enter into force, a UN source said.

Ireland, Nigeria and Niue became the latest signatories of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons on the 75th anniversary of the US atomic bombing of Hiroshima on Aug. 6, 1945.

Read more.

You may also like these stories:

US Lifts Alert Advising Americans to Avoid All Travel Abroad

China Raps US for Using National Security as Reason to Bully TikTok

Massive Blast in Beirut Kills at Least 73, Injures 3,700