Latest News

More Civilians Receive Senior Govt Posts

6 February 2013

Burma’s President Thein Sein appointed five new deputy ministers on Tuesday, increasing the size of his cabinet to 41 members and adding civilians to a government dominated by military personnel. The new appointees are Aung Htoo, deputy minister of energy; Than TunAung, deputy minister of mines; Win Maw Tun, deputy minister of labor; Zaw Min Aung, deputy minister of science and technology; and Tin Shwe, deputy minister of hotels and tourism. Retired army general Hsan Hsint was named the new minister of religion last week, replacing Gen Thein Tun, who is reportedly being investigated for corruption.