NLD Reorganizes Information Committee

By Htet Naing Zaw 22 August 2017

NAYPYITAW— The ruling National League for Democracy (NLD) party has reformed its central information committee with central executive committee (CEC) member U Nyan Win taking the helm.

“According to party policy, each committee has to be led by a CEC member, so I will chair this committee,” he told The Irrawaddy.

Monywa Aung Shin, editor of NLD mouthpiece the D-Wave Journal, will serve as secretary of the new committee with U Kyaw Aye Naing, U Kyi Toe, U Nyein Thit, U Tin Hla, U Nay Phone Latt, U Ye Min Oo, U Lwin Ko Latt, U Wai Phyo Han and U Than Zin Htun also joining the team.

Meanwhile, U Win Htein, who is considered one of party chairperson and State Counselor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi’s closest confidantes, remains a separate NLD spokesperson.

“U Win Htein has never been a member of this committee, but he speaks occasionally on behalf of the party,” U Nyan Win told The Irrawaddy.

“Our committee will take the central role in releasing information about the party in the future,” he added.

U Win Htein, 75, has achieved notoriety as NLD spokesperson for his reckless and controversial remarks in answering the media’s questions.

When asked about rumors on social media of President U Htin Kyaw’s resignation at a press conference in May, U Win Htein said: “It’s difficult to say [who is behind the rumor] as we are flooded with information. It’s hard to guess if it was spread by the USDP [Union Solidarity and Development Party] or some military organizations, or some IT experts who hate us.”

His remark provoked ire from the military and U Win Htein later said it was just a slip of tongue.