Election 2020

Suu Kyi and Myanmar’s President Crush Election Opponents

By San Yamin Aung 9 November 2020

YANGON — Myanmar’s State Counselor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and President U Win Myint, the National League for Democracy’s (NLD) chairwoman and vice-chairman, have been comfortably re-elected in their constituencies.

The NLD regional candidate in Kawhmu Township, Daw Thandar Aye, said Daw Aung San Suu Kyi saw higher popularity this year than in the 2015 general election with more than 60,000 votes for the township’s Lower House seat. In 2015, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi received more than 50,000 votes.

The candidate from the main opposition Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) received around 11,000 votes.

U David Hla Myint, chairman of the United Nationalities Democracy Party (UNDP), who won a seat for the NLD in the abandoned 1990 general election, received a little over 100 votes. He previously said he was confident about defeating his former leader.

Daw Thandar Aye said the NLD won in all other seats it contested in Kawhmu.

The NLD also secured all parliamentary seats in President U Win Myint’s Tamwe constituency, the regional candidate U Thein Myint said.

He said the party received around 93 percent of votes in the township, much more than in 1990 and 2015. The NLD boycotted the 2010 general election, which was widely regarded as a rigged poll.

U Win Myint was re-elected to his Lower House seat and the second NLD vice-chairman, Dr. Zaw Myint Maung, who is also Mandalay Region’s chief minister, also won overwhelmingly in Amarapura Township.

Dr. Myo Nyunt, the NLD’s spokesman, said on Monday that the party had already secured more than enough seats to form the next government, according to initial counts. The NLD needs at least 322 seats in the Union Parliament to select the president. The country’s electoral body, the Union Election Commission, has yet to finalize the results.

You may also like these stories:

Thai Ambassador Praises Myanmar’s Election Handling

NLD Set to Sweep All Seats in Ayeyarwady Region, Initial Voting Results Show

NLD Leads in Mon State but With Some Losses to Local Mon Party