Election 2020

NLD Leads in Mon State but With Some Losses to Local Mon Party

By Nyein Nyein 9 November 2020

NLD candidates lead the election results in Mon State, securing more than 30 out of a total 45 parliamentary seats, party candidates and the head of the NLD’s Mon State campaign said on Monday afternoon.

The party won township-wide in the Mon State capital Mawlamyine, as well as in Kyaik Hto, Bilin, Paung and Tha Hton, and scored partial wins in Thanbyuzayet, Chaungzon, Mudon and Kyaikmayaw.

Mon State Chief Minister Dr. Aye Zan was reelected in his state’s constituency 2 in Kyaik Hto Township, according to the NLD’s election campaign team for Mon State. A number of other NLD lawmakers, including Daw Khaing Khaing Leh of Tha Hton constituency 1 and Lower House lawmaker Mi Kun Chan of Paung Township, were also re-elected.

However, the local Mon Unity Party (MUP) has secured at least 11 seats including three Upper House and two Lower House seats in Ye and Mudon townships.

Mon State Deputy Speaker Dr. Aung Naing Oo was reelected in the state parliament’s constituency 1 in Chaungzon Township, representing the MUP. He said the party secured all five seats in Ye, including two Upper House seats. He said the MUP expected to win at least 15 seats in Mon State.

The votes for three ethnic affairs minister positions are still being counted. In this election, the NLD has lost a number of the seats it won in 2015. U Ngwe Myint, the head of the NLD’s Mon State election campaign, said, “We lost to [the Mon party].”

You may also like these stories:

NLD Set to Sweep All Seats in Ayeyarwady Region, Initial Voting Results Show

NLD Set to Sweep Capital Except for Military-Dominated Zeyarthiri Township