Govt, NLD Form Power Transfer Committees

By San Yamin Aung 11 December 2015

RANGOON — The outgoing administration of President Thein Sein and the National League for Democracy (NLD) have formed separate committees to map out the transfer of responsibilities to the next government.

Zaw Htay, director of the President’s Office, told The Irrawaddy that the current government’s committee had been formed on Thursday to work over the transition period up to the inauguration of the next government at the end of March, following the NLD’s emphatic election win on Nov. 8.

“First, we will hold meetings as quickly as we can and discuss details on how to arrange for the transition,” he said.

The government’s committee members include Union Minister Hla Tun as chairman, Information Minister Ye Htut, President’s Office members Zaw Htay and Hla Tun, and Construction Ministry deputy director-general Maung Maung Ohn.

Meanwhile, the NLD’s team will be comprised of the party’s central executive committee members Win Htein and Dr Myo Aung, along with former Rangoon University rector Dr Aung Thu.

Win Htein told The Irrawaddy that the NLD committee’s first meeting will take place next week during the current parliamentary session in Naypyidaw.

Thein Sein and NLD leader Aung San Suu Kyi met on Dec. 2 to hold discussions which largely focused on how both the government and the opposition would ensure a peaceful transfer of power to the incoming NLD government. The president agreed at the meeting to make efforts to ease public concerns over the transition.