President Honors Top Taxpayers

By Htet Naing Zaw 25 January 2019

NAYPYITAW—Myanmar President U Win Myint presented certificates of honor to the country’s top payers of income tax, commercial tax and special commodity tax for the 2017-18 fiscal year, at the presidential residence in Naypyitaw on Thursday.

A certificate of special honor was awarded to U Aung Ko Win, chairperson of Kanbawza (KBZ) Bank which has topped the list of taxpayers for seven consecutive years.

U Zaw Zaw of Max Myanmar Group (left) receives a top taxpayer certificate from President U Win Myint. / Htet Naing Zaw

Among the top income taxpayers of the 2017-18 fiscal year are leading businesspersons U Zaw Zaw, U Ai Tun, U Aung Moe Kyaw, U Khin Maung Aye and U Tha Toe Hein as well as Myawady Bank and Myawady Trading, both of which are owned by the Myanmar military.