Suu Kyi Gives Up Two of Four Ministerial Posts

By The Irrawaddy 4 April 2016

RANGOON — National League for Democracy (NLD) chairwoman Aung San Suu Kyi has renounced two of the four ministerial positions she took on last week.

After a meeting of the Union Parliament on Monday, Upper House Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than announced that President Htin Kyaw had nominated Myo Thein Gyi and Pe Zin Tun for the posts of Minister of Education and Minister of Electric Power and Energy, respectively.

Last week, the Union Parliament approved President Htin Kyaw’s appointment of Suu Kyi to four Cabinet positions, heading the ministries of foreign affairs, the President’s office and education, as well as that of electric power and energy.

The reason behind the Lady’s renunciation of the posts remains unknown. But on Friday, the NLD-dominated Upper House passed a bill designating Suu Kyi as “state counselor,” an advisory role that is perceived as giving her more executive power, since she has been barred from the presidency.

Currently, Myo Thein Gyi, 51, the nominee for the position of education minister, is the rector for the University of West Rangoon. Prior to the post, he held directorial roles in both basic and higher education departments in the education ministry.

Pe Zin Tun, 60, whose name was put forward for the ministerial role for energy and electric power, has served as a permanent secretary within the Ministry of Energy since 2015.

The Union Parliament also announced President Htin Kyaw’s nomination of Tun Tun Oo for Attorney General and Maw Than as the Union Auditor General.

Fifty-nine-year-old Tun Tun Oo was once a Maj-Gen in the military and is the current deputy attorney general. He is also a member of the Union Peacemaking Working Committee.

Maw Than, 77, is the current director of the Central Bank of Burma and was once the rector of the Rangoon Institute of Economics.

If there are no objections from lawmakers to the nominations, all four positions are expected to be approved in Parliament on Tuesday.