Rangoon Parliament Nixes Flyover Projects

By Htun Htun 7 April 2016

RANGOON — Rangoon’s divisional parliament cancelled the former government’s plans to build two new flyovers in the commercial capital during the 2016-2017 fiscal year.

“We passed the planning bill for the 2016-17 fiscal year today and we only cancelled the two flyover construction projects in the bill,” Nay Naing Oo, a Twante Township lawmaker, told The Irrawaddy on Wednesday.

The former government had included plans in the bill to construct two flyovers at the junction of Kaba Aye Pagoda Road and Parami Street and in North Okkalapa Township.

Nay Naing Oo said that the flyover budget—over 31 billion kyats (US$26 million)—would have made up almost 70 percent of the total budget for the region. The divisional parliament voted to use the funds for development of townships outside of Rangoon’s municipal areas.

Only a handful of lawmakers voted to share funds within and outside these areas, said Kyaw Kyaw Htun, a lawmaker for Hlaing Township, according to state-run media, “so only the 12 townships outside the municipal areas will have access to funds, though townships within these areas could use funds as well, for example, for drainage and garbage collection.”

Rangoon Division has 45 townships, 12 of which are outside Rangoon’s municipal areas, including Aung San Suu Kyi’s constituency, Kawhmu Township.