Yangon Nursing University Collapse Caused by Design Flaws, Committee Finds

By Myo Pa Pa San 26 May 2020

YANGON—Defects in building design caused the partial collapse of the Yangon Nursing University building in Yangon’s Lanmadaw Township on May 17, according to Federation of Myanmar Engineering Societies President U Aung Myint.

The building was constructed by Pyi Mahar Construction Co in 2011 under the previous government and opened by former Union health minister Dr. Pe Thet Khin in September 2013.

A five-member committee formed by the Federation of Myanmar Engineering Societies to examine the causes of collapse submitted its initial report to the regional government on Monday.

“Roughly speaking, it was due to defects in the design as well as poor supervision in the construction process,” said U Aung Myint.

The investigation committee has already submitted its report to the Construction Ministry and the rector of the Yangon Nursing University.

The Construction Ministry has also formed its own committee to investigate the collapse, which is due to release its findings in early June, according to U Aung Myint. “The committee is examining the building structure. I have suggested examining the quality of the concrete and the iron rods. It is also examining whether the entire building can continue to be used,” he said.

The collapse highlights the need for Myanmar engineers to carry out projects in line with industry standards, said U Aung Myint.

The roof and ceiling on the left side of the four-story building collapsed and the building’s portico was also damaged by falling debris.

The collapse drew widespread criticisms from city residents as buildings in Yangon usually see little damage from weather and the building is just seven years old.

Translated from Burmese by Thet Ko Ko.

You may also like these stories:

With COVID-19 Tests and Quarantines for MPs, Yangon Parliament Back to Session Soon

NYDC CEO Says New Yangon City Project Will Move Forward

Myanmar Facebook User Sued for Accusing Mandalay Chief Minister of Corruption