Lower House Approves Members of Two More Standing Committees

By The Irrawaddy 9 February 2016

RANGOON — The Lower House of Burma’s Parliament convened for its fourth day on Monday, with lawmakers approving the members of two more parliamentary standing committees.

Lower House Speaker Win Myint read the nominated candidates for two 15-member committees—the Lower House Rights Committee and the Government Guarantees, Pledges and Undertakings Vetting Committee.

Lower House Deputy Speaker T Khun Myat of the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) will serve as chairperson of the Rights Committee, while National League for Democracy (NLD) lawmaker Dr May Win Myint of Rangoon’s Mayangone constituency will assume the chairmanship of the latter body.

State and divisional parliaments also convened on Monday to select speakers and deputy speakers. Members of the NLD filled the majority of the postings, with the exception of the Arakan and Shan state legislatures.

In Arakan State, San Kyaw Hla, an Arakan National Party (ANP) lawmaker from Ponnagyun Township was selected as house speaker and the ANP’s Phoe Min from Rathedaung Township will serve as the deputy speaker.

In Shan State, the Union Solidarity and Development Party’s Sai Lone Hsai of Kengtung Township claimed the speakership role with Sao Aung Myat, the current Shan State chief minister, to serve as his deputy.