11 New Ministers Sworn In

MPs leave Parliament after a session in 2011. (PHOTO: The Irrawaddy)

Burma’s Union Parliament on Friday approved 11 new ministers and a new auditor-general.

On the final day of a two-month-long parliamentary session, the bicameral Houses of Parliament approved the proposed candidates for the ministries of defense; railways; construction; social welfare, relief and resettlement; culture; finance and revenue; labor; tourism; national planning and economic development; mining; and technology—as well as a new auditor general who had been proposed by the president, and a new member of the Union Election Commission—all without objection.

Five of the new ministers are former deputy-ministers from the respective ministries. Others are experts in the relative fields, said Khin Maung Yi, a Lower House MP representing the National Democratic Force.

“One of the new ministers is a woman—Dr. Myat Myat Ohn Khin, who was an Upper House representative before moving on to be deputy-minister at the Ministry of Health,” he added.

Myat Myat Ohn Khin is now Minister for Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement, and becomes the first and only female minister among the 36 ministerial heads in the government.

Lt-Gen Wai Lwin, who was appointed to the Rangoon Regional parliament in July, replaces Defense Minister Lt-Gen Hla Min who returns to his former posting within the ministry.

Former Mining Minister Thein Htike becomes auditor-general, replacing his former boss, Lun Maung, who resigned last month. Civil Service Board member Dr. Myint Aung will now take Thein Htike’s place as Minister of Mining.

The regional chief of Northern Command, Gen. Zay Yar Aung, has been given the job as Railways Minister, a position previously occupied by Naypyidaw’s chief peace negotiator Aung Min.

The five former deputies who have been promoted are: Tourism Minister Htay Aung; Science and Technology Minister Dr. Ko Ko Oo; National Planning and Economic Development Minister Dr. Kan Zaw; Finance and Revenue Minister Win Shein; and Construction Minister Kyaw Lwin.

The other two new ministers are Labor Minister Maung Myint, who was formerly Deputy-Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Culture Minister Aye Myint Kyu, a former Deputy-Minister of Sport.

Four previous ministers have been moved to new ministries within the President’s Office following a cabinet reshuffle in the last week of August.

Friday’s parliamentary session also saw the approval of the controversial Foreign Direct Investment Bill after amendments in the Upper House.

Parliament will resume in the third week of October.

6 Responses to 11 New Ministers Sworn In

  1. George Than Setkyar Heine

    Changing and replacing ACTORS ONLY would not DO the JOB man!
    Only ABOLISHING/CHANGING the SCRIPT (Than Shwe drawn constitution) would DO the TRICK and in turn GET THE JOB DONE – restoration of democracy, freedom and human rights in Burma – lest you guys forget.
    Than Shwe is just STALLING the GAME and BIDING his TIME only as well, don’t forget that.
    And Thein Sein has no choice but to PLAY the GAME since he is OBLIGED to COVER HIS BOSS’ ASS and BACK in the process.
    SHUFFLING CARDS without CHANGING the DECK HOLDS NO WATER for that matter also.
    Best bet for Burma is BACK to the BASICS no less.
    – Dissolution of Thein Sein’s parliament is first and foremost.
    – Formation of an INTERIM RULING BODY should be followed as well.
    – Holding a MULTI-PARTY GENERAL ELECTION within a year is most essential and warranted of course and
    – ALL SOLDIERS IN UNIFORM RETURNING TO THE BARRACKS will be a SIGHT FOR SORE EYES and it is non-negotiable and unquestionable in the first place.
    Of course a DEMOCRATIC and REPRESENTATIVE RULING BODY should/would be IN PLACE in Rangoon, not at that HELL HOLE Naypyidaw, by the time and in due course to complete the picture as well.
    Then we, specifically I can/will say DEMOCRACY, FREEDOM and HUMAN RIGHTS ARE GOING TO STAY IN BURMA and FOREVER and a DAY no less as well folks.

  2. At least the Hlutdaws work hard for in the positive way.

  3. There were 11, new minister was appointed and total minister were 36 in difference department so far. Can we see any one from the opposition party or any one from ethnic groups. What is equal right ? Where was national unity. I don’t think the Burmese government is focusing on national unity and reconciliation.

    When we talk about equal right, it mean, sharing the power equally, holding the post equally, serving the people equally, sharing the benefit equally, uplift the people equally, helping the people equally, looking after the people equally, not based on their ethnicities but based on their representative. As long as the Burmese government use this kind of tactic and purely discrimination, there will be no ending for civil war. There is no point of talking about national unity or peace agreement with ethnic arm groups, as long as the Burmese government is adopting this kind of discrimination.

    The Burmese people has enough manpower to hold this and that post , it does not mean there will be no vacancy or a place for ethnic minorities. The Burmese people could not represent the ethnic, they should have their own representative. If, the Burmese people want peace and harmony in this small tiny country , there must be place for ethinc minorities groups not only in their own state but also in center office.

  4. No one believes more firmly than Comrade Thein Sein that all Burmese are equal. He would be only too happy to let you make your decisions for yourselves. But sometimes you might make the wrong decisions, comrades, and then where should we be?

  5. When it is a true and elected Parliament, and when the military do not shore up the numbers, when the Constitution is corrected…only then will the world will breathe a sigh of relief as the true rebuilding begins.

    Meanwhile all the stories need to be written, details recorded.

  6. Don’t talk too much about rubbish things.
    Let see what she can do for Murma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available. Comments with external links in the body text will be deleted by moderators.