Latest News

State, Division Parliaments Get New Military Appointees

16 November 2012

Forty-two new new military appointees were named in 12 of Burma’s 14 state and division parliaments on Thursday, according to state-run media. The new military appointees replace those who first took up their legislative positions in January 2011, said the Union Election Commission. Thirteen replacements were made in Shan State, six in Irrawaddy Division, five in Magway Division, and three each in Kachin and Chin states and Pegu and Sagaing divisions. In Rangoon Division, there were two new appointees, while Tenasserim and Mandalay divisions received one each.