Latest News

It's Official—Suu Kyi Wins Kawhmu

2 April 2012

According to Ko Ko, the chairman of the Yangon Region Election Commission, National League for Democracy (NLD) leader Aung San Suu Kyi won a total of 55,902 votes while the Union Solidarity and Development candidate Dr. Soe Min won 9,172. Tin Yee from the Union and Peace Party won 397 votes. Suu Kyi will, therefore, take a seat in Parliament representing Kawhmu, a small farming town about three hours south of former capital Rangoon.