Latest News

Burma to Establish More Special Economic Zones

4 October 2012

The Burmese government plans to set up seven more special economic zones (SEZs) around the country, bringing the total to 25, according to a report on Wednesday by The New Light of Myanmar. Three of the new SEZs will be located in Karen State, where government negotiators have reached a ceasefire agreement with the Karen National Union after more than six decades of fighting, and the others will be in Tatkon in Naypyidaw, Yadanarbon in Mandalay Division, Namoum in Shan State and Ponnagyun in Arakan State, the report said.