Latest News

Burma Rejects Australian Election Monitors

29 March 2012

Burma has refused to accept two Australian politicians who had been nominated to observe by-elections on Sunday, according to a report by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. The two, federal Labor MP Janelle Saffin and Liberal Senator Mathias Cormann, had been selected to be part of the delegation of five. Saffin said the refusal casts doubt over the whole election process. “Things like this just add to it not being seen as free and fair,” she said, adding that it was “not free and fair anyway in terms of the legal framework.”