Four Rohingya Sentenced to Death for Deadly 2016 Attack in Rakhine

By Min Aung Khine 23 February 2018

SITTWE — Four Rohingya involved in an attack on a police outpost in northern Rakhine State in October 2016 were sentenced to death on Friday by a special court in the state’s Maungdaw District.

The four were among 30 people found guilty of involvement in an attack on Nga Khura Police outpost in northern Maungdaw Township on Oct. 9, 2016 that killed two security officials. The other 26 convicts earned prison sentences ranging from 10 to 20 years. Another 15 suspects were released, according to Deputy District Judge U Nyo Lwin Oo.

“The court sentences the four to death for the crime of homicide,” said the deputy judge, adding that the 45 people were initially charged under articles 303, 326, 33 and 34 of the Penal Code.

Separately, another 34 Rohingya accused of involvement in the attack were sentenced to 18 years’ imprisonment each on Wednesday.

The deputy judge said hearings in the cases of another 294 Rohingya were under way at the special court and verdicts would be announced soon.

Additionally, 76 Rohingya villagers accused of involvement in a series of attacks on security outposts on Aug. 25, 2017 have been charged with committing acts of terrorism, according to the Rakhine State Attorney General’s Office.

The Arakan Rohingya Salvation Army, which has been denounced by the government as a terrorist organization, claimed responsibility for the attacks, which killed 11 security members.

“Since it has been declared a terrorist organization, anyone arrested in relation to the attacks was charged with terrorism,” said Rakhine State Attorney General U Kyaw Hla Tun.

Maungdaw District Court also declared as fugitives 509 Rohingya accused of involvement in the attacks but who are not in custody.