Myanmar Military Regime Appoints Governing Body

By The Irrawaddy 3 February 2021

The Myanmar military regime formed an official national governing body on Tuesday, one day after staging a coup against the democratically elected National League for Democracy (NLD)-led government.

Christened the “State Administrative Council” (SAC), the 11-member body is largely made up of military officials and led by military chief-cum-coup leader Senior General Min Aung Hlaing.

Among the 11 council members are three civilians. Two of these—New National Democracy Party chairman U Thein Nyunt and National Democratic Force chairman U Khin Maung Swe—are members of parties seen as political foes of the ousted NLD. The third is former Karen National Union leader Padoh Mahn Nyein Maung, who mounted an unsuccessful run for a Lower House seat representing Ayeyarwady Region’s Pantanaw Township for the Karen People’s Party in last year’s general election.

U Thein Nyunt and U Khin Maung Swe are former NLD members who split from the party in order to take part in the military-organized 2010 election and served as members of Parliament until 2015.

In addition to Snr-Gen Min Aung Hlaing, the other seven members are deputy military chief Vice Senior General Soe Win as vice chairman; Lieutenant General Aung Linn Dway as secretary; Lieutenant General Ye Win Oo as joint secretary; and General Mya Tun Oo, Admiral Tin Aung San, General Maung Maung Kyaw and Lieutenant General Moe Myint Tun as members.

The council has also appointed State and Regional Administrative Council chairmen, a position equivalent to that of chief minister, for Myanmar’s 12 states and regions; as well as Self-Administrative Council chairmen for the country’s six self-administered zones, which are administered by the ethnic Naga in Sagaing Region and the ethnic Danu, Pa-O, Palaung, Kokang and Wa in Shan State.

Some of the state/regional SAC members are from ethnic political parties.

The Kachin State Administrative Council chairman is U Hket Htein Nang, a former Upper House parliamentarian from the Unity and Democracy Party of Kachin State, which is affiliated with the military-backed Union Solidarity and Development Party.

The appointments to the regional administrative councils for Yangon and Ayeyarwaddy regions have yet to be released.

In a series of appointments and dismissals, the military-led SAC also replaced other key officials.

Attorney-General U Tun Tun Oo has been replaced by Daw Thida Oo.

Union Auditor-General U Maw Than has been replaced by Dr. Kan Zaw, who served as minister of planning and economic development under the U Thein Sein government.

Central Bank of Myanmar chairman U Kyaw Kyaw Maung was replaced by U Than Nyane, who served in the same position under the previous military regime and is an adviser to KBZ bank.

Naypyitaw Council Chairman Dr. Myo Aung has been replaced by Dr. Maung Maung Naing.

You may also like these stories:

Myanmar Medics Prepare Civil Disobedience Against Military Rule

Myanmar Coup Leader Says His Regime Will Focus on Election Probe, COVID-19

Military Tells Members of Myanmar’s Dissolved Parliament They Can Go Home