KBZ Bank Patron Receives Myanmar’s Highest Honor for Services to Country

By The Irrawaddy 5 January 2021

YANGON—U Aung Ko Win, patron of Kanbawza Bank (KBZ), Myanmar’s largest private bank, on Monday received the Thayay Sithu Medal, a class of the honorary title Pyidaungsu Sithu Thingaha, the highest decoration bestowed by the Union government for serving the state in an exemplary manner.

It is the first time a businessman has received the Thayay Sithu Medal. The award was given in recognition of his contributions to the nation, including being the highest income taxpayer for an eighth year in a row last year, and for donations of more than 180 billion kyats (US$135.17 million) for social development and disaster relief.

President U Win Myint and the recipients of the honorary titles. / Myanmar President’s Office / Facebook

President U Win Myint bestowed the award on U Aung Ko Win along with 19 other title recipients for 2020 and one recipient for 2019, including both civilian and military personnel, on Monday at the Presidential Palace in Naypyitaw. The awardees included those who have excelled in the arts, science and other fields, as well as those who have served the state with bravery and courage without regard for their own lives, President U Win Myint said at the event.

“Those who have won these honorary titles are worthy of honoring, as they have shown bravery and selfless devotion to the national interest, rather than personal interest, during the course of their lives, fraught with difficulties and hardships; they are worthy of being honored as they have exhibited strong determination, exemplary qualifications and sacrifices, which we should be proud of,” U Win Myint said in his speech.

Patron of Kanbawza Bank U Aung Ko Win

State Counselor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Commander-in-Chief of Defense Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing, the deputy commander-in-chief of defense services and the Union vice-presidents, Parliament speakers and ministers were also present at the event.

On Monday, the winners of each honorary title for 2021 were also announced. Deputy Commander-in-Chief of Defense Services Vice Senior General Soe Win received the Thayay Sithu honor.

You may also like these stories:

Myanmar’s Daw Aung San Suu Kyi Unveils ‘New Peace Architecture’ Policy

Myanmar’s NLD, Mon Unity Party Fail to Meet Due to Venue Dispute