Chief Ministers to Be Announced on Monday

By Tin Htet Paing 25 March 2016

RANGOON — Rangoon Division’s incoming chief minister will be announced at the regional legislature on Monday, along with all other states and regions during their respective sessions on the same day, according to divisional lawmakers.

Lawmaker Sandar Min, from Rangoon’s Seikgyikanaungto constituency, told The Irrawaddy on Friday that regional lawmakers were informed that President-elect Htin Kyaw’s appointees for Burma’s 14 chief minister posts would be announced during Monday’s parliamentary session.

“It will take place in all regional parliaments across the country at the same time on March 28,” she said.

National League for Democracy (NLD) lawmaker Phyo Min Thein from Rangoon’s Hlegu constituency has been tipped to become the next Rangoon Division chief minister. The 46-year-old was elected to the Union Parliament’s Lower House in Burma’s 2012 by-election and went on to serve as a member of that chamber’s banking and finance development committee. Last year, he trained his sights on regional governance, successfully contesting his Hlegu Township seat at the divisional level.

Sandar Min said she would have “no objection” if Phyo Min Thein is selected.

Rangoon-based political analyst Khin Zaw Win told The Irrawaddy that Rangoon needs a strong candidate for the position, as the nation’s commercial hub and most populous city.

“It’s a very important position among all the states and regions,” he said. “He or she should be well experienced and a senior figure in the political field.”

The Rangoon Division cabinet of the outgoing government has nine ministries, and lawmakers were unable to confirm whether a new ministerial configuration would be announced on Monday as well.