Burma, Indonesia Sign Visa Exemption Agreement

By San Yamin Aung 17 May 2014

RANGOON — Burmese and Indonesian citizens will soon be able to travel to each others’ countries without a visa, according to the Indonesian Embassy in Rangoon.

The embassy told The Irrawaddy on Friday that Burmese ordinary passport holders will soon be allowed to visit Indonesia for 30 days without a visa and Indonesians will have a 14-day visa exemption in Burma.

The visa exemptions will be effective after a ratification process is complete, and once airport immigration offices have been given notice, the embassy said.

The visa exemption agreement was signed by Burmese Foreign Minister Wunna Maung Lwin and Indonesian Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa on May 10 in Naypyitaw, during the 24th Asean Summit.

“The earlier signing was of the Visa exemption agreement. I think it is very important to improve relations between the people of both countries, partly to increase connectivity between Asean countries,” said Marty Natalegawa was quoted by ANTAR News as saying.

Burma and Indonesia have already agreed a visa exemption for official diplomatic passport holders for up to 14 days, according to the Indonesian Embassy, which added that Indonesian passport holders can now travel to 15 countries without a visa.