The nexus of natural resources, the environment and development of Burma’s southernmost region are likely to dominate the campaign trail in Tenasserim Division. Local residents and civil society groups have in recent years voiced increasingly vocal opposition to a series of mining ventures, large-scale agricultural concessions and infrastructure projects in the division.

The region’s flagship development project, the Dawei special economic zone (SEZ), would dramatically reshape the divisional capital Dawei, providing thousands of jobs and boosting the local economy, but it has struggled to secure financial backing amid concerns voiced by environmental activists and claims of inadequate compensation by some local residents whose land was confiscated to make way for the project. The positive and negative impacts of the envisioned SEZ are likely to provide fertile ground for debate on the campaign trail.

Tenasserim Division returns 10 lawmakers to the Union Parliament’s Lower House and 12 to the Upper House. The regional legislature is made up of 21 elected parliamentarians, including one ethnic affairs representative, and seven appointed military MPs.

  • Dawei
  • Launglon
  • Thayetchaung
  • Yebyu
  • Myeik
  • Kyunsu
  • Palaw
  • Tenasserim (Tanintharyi)
  • Kawthoung
  • Bokpyin
အဓိက ပါတီမ်ား

The All Mon Region Democracy Party is one of two major ethnic Mon parties to compete in the 2015 election. The party contested Burma’s 2010 election and won 16 seats in total, taking advantage of a...

The Mon National Party is one of two major ethnic Mon parties to compete in the 2015 election, and in some cases it will go head to head with incumbent candidates from the All Mon Region Democracy...

The Myanmar Farmers Development Party claims a membership of about 2 million people and is fielding 286 candidates in the upcoming general election. It plans to contest mainly in the country’s...

The National Democratic Force was formed in 2010 as a breakaway faction of the National League for Democracy, with the former seeking to win races in an election that the latter boycotted. The party...

The National League for Democracy was born out of the political tumult of 1988, when a massive pro-democracy uprising rocked the nation and toppled the government of Gen. Ne Win. It subsequently...

The National Unity Party says its boasts a membership of about 500,000 and has offices in 306 of Burma’s 330 townships. The party is likely to be one of the most pervasive presences on the campaign...

The ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) was formed in 2010 to contest the general election that year as a political vehicle for many of Burma’s former military leaders. The party...

Other ပါတီမ်ား