Owing to populations whose ancestors were brought in from South Asia under British colonial rule and also to the commercial capital’s pull for job-seeking migrants from across the country, Rangoon Division is home to arguably Burma’s most diverse constituencies. Still, as in other parts of the ethnic Bamar heartland, races in the country’s most populace division are expected to be largely a contest between the ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) and the opposition National League for Democracy (NLD).

Rangoon Division has the distinction of being the only state or division in Burma where a majority of the population are urban dwellers, presenting a unique set of issues that candidates will be expected to address, including how best to: encourage robust and responsible foreign investment, as the primary destination for overseas businesses at present; ensure affordable housing in a booming property market; prioritize preservation of the city’s rich endowment of colonial architecture; and manage a population boom that is expected to continue for at least another two decades, among many other questions.

Rangoon Division returns 45 lawmakers to the Union Parliament’s Lower House and 12 to the Upper House. The regional legislature is made up of 92 elected parliamentarians, including two ethnic affairs representatives, and 30 appointed military MPs.

  • Insein
  • Mingaladon
  • Hmawbi
  • Hlegu
  • Taikkyi
  • Htantabin
  • Shwepyithar
  • Hlaing Tharyar
  • Thingangyun
  • Yankin
  • South Okkalapa
  • North Okkalapa
  • Thaketa
  • Dawbon
  • Tamwe
  • Pazundaung
  • Botahtaung
  • Dagon Myothit (South)
  • Dagon Myothit (North)
  • Dagon Myothit (East)
  • Dagon Myothit (Seikkan)
  • Mingalar Taung Nyunt
  • Thanlyin
  • Kyauktan
  • Thongwa
  • Kayan
  • Twantay
  • Kawhmu
  • Kungyangon
  • Dala
  • Seikgyikanaungto
  • Cocokyun
  • Kyauktada
  • Pabedan
  • Lanmadaw
  • Latha
  • Ahlone
  • Kyeemyindaing
  • Sanchaung
  • Hlaing
  • Kamaryut
  • Mayangone
  • Dagon
  • Bahan
  • Seikkan
အဓိက ပါတီမ်ား

The Mon National Party is one of two major ethnic Mon parties to compete in the 2015 election, and in some cases it will go head to head with incumbent candidates from the All Mon Region Democracy...

The Myanmar Farmers Development Party claims a membership of about 2 million people and is fielding 286 candidates in the upcoming general election. It plans to contest mainly in the country’s...

The National Democratic Force was formed in 2010 as a breakaway faction of the National League for Democracy, with the former seeking to win races in an election that the latter boycotted. The party...

The National Development Party was founded earlier this year by Nay Zin Latt, a former presidential adviser turned patron of a party that has, since word of its formation, prompted speculation,...

The National League for Democracy was born out of the political tumult of 1988, when a massive pro-democracy uprising rocked the nation and toppled the government of Gen. Ne Win. It subsequently...

The National Unity Party says its boasts a membership of about 500,000 and has offices in 306 of Burma’s 330 townships. The party is likely to be one of the most pervasive presences on the campaign...

The ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) was formed in 2010 to contest the general election that year as a political vehicle for many of Burma’s former military leaders. The party...

Other ပါတီမ်ား

Pre-Dawn Queues as Voting in Burma Gets Underway

Voters in Burma’s major cities wait patiently, some over an hour before polling stations opened Sunday morning, to cast ballots in the historic general election.

Ignore Threats, Suu Kyi Tells Coco Islands Voters

Aung San Suu Kyi has urged voters living on the Coco Islands not to be intimidated by threats reported by locals ahead of Sunday’s landmark election.