During Burma’s 2012 by-election, the National League for Democracy (NLD) made a dent in what had been a solidly USDP division, winning five of the five seats it contested including an NLD victory in Letpadan, a township that made headlines earlier this year when police cracked down violently on peaceful student protestors.

As in other parts of Burma’s agricultural core, land rights—or a lack thereof—are a major concern for Pegu Division constituents, and candidates will be expected to lay out how they plan to combat land confiscation, which comes frequently at the hands of the powerful military.

Bago Division returns 28 lawmakers to the Union Parliament’s Lower House and 12 to the Upper House. The regional legislature is made up of 57 elected parliamentarians, including one ethnic affairs representative, and 19 appointed military MPs.

  • Pegu (Bago)
  • Thanatpin
  • Kawa
  • Waw
  • Nyaunglebin
  • Kyauktaga
  • Daik-U
  • Shwegyin
  • Taungoo
  • Yedashe
  • Kyaukkyi
  • Phyu
  • Oktwin
  • Htantabin
  • Pyay
  • Paukkhaung
  • Padaung
  • Paungde
  • Thegon
  • Shwedaung
  • Tharrawaddy
  • Letpadan
  • Minhla
  • Okpho
  • Zigon
  • Nattalin
  • Monyo
  • Gyobingauk
အဓိက ပါတီမ်ား

The Mon National Party is one of two major ethnic Mon parties to compete in the 2015 election, and in some cases it will go head to head with incumbent candidates from the All Mon Region Democracy...

The Myanmar Farmers Development Party claims a membership of about 2 million people and is fielding 286 candidates in the upcoming general election. It plans to contest mainly in the country’s...

The National Democratic Force was formed in 2010 as a breakaway faction of the National League for Democracy, with the former seeking to win races in an election that the latter boycotted. The party...

The National Development Party was founded earlier this year by Nay Zin Latt, a former presidential adviser turned patron of a party that has, since word of its formation, prompted speculation,...

The National League for Democracy was born out of the political tumult of 1988, when a massive pro-democracy uprising rocked the nation and toppled the government of Gen. Ne Win. It subsequently...

The National Unity Party says its boasts a membership of about 500,000 and has offices in 306 of Burma’s 330 townships. The party is likely to be one of the most pervasive presences on the campaign...

The ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) was formed in 2010 to contest the general election that year as a political vehicle for many of Burma’s former military leaders. The party...

Other ပါတီမ်ား

After Purge, Shwe Mann Mounts Campaign Trail Comeback

Ousted ruling party chief Shwe Mann is drawing on his financial heft and remnants of party support to mount a formidable campaign ahead of the Nov. 8 poll.

As Election Looms, Burma Trials Target Dissent

Rights groups say Burmese authorities are increasingly bringing cases against students, land rights campaigners and other activists ahead of the country’s Nov. 8 election.

Down But Not Out: Shwe Mann Hits the Campaign Trail

A month after his ouster as chairman of the ruling party, Union Parliament speaker Shwe Mann hit the campaign trail in Pegu’s Phyu Township on Friday.