Commentary
Monday, September 19, 2016

Critics of Burma’s military generals understand that Daw Aung San Suu Kyi’s US visit will bring business, wealth and amnesty to many powerful people who

Thursday, September 15, 2016

Removing Burmese tycoons from the US sanctions list doesn’t necessarily mean they are clean, writes The Irrawaddy’s founding editor Aung Zaw.

Thursday, September 8, 2016

The purpose of keeping sanctions is to advance democratic reform in Burma, ensuring that the military fully withdraws from politics in the future.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Aung San Suu Kyi’s diplomatic skills will be severely tested on her trip to China, as she attempts to set a new tone in Sino-Burmese

Monday, July 25, 2016

To achieve peace, Aung San Suu Kyi must find common ground with army generals as well as ethnic leaders, and the events of last week

Monday, May 16, 2016

Why is Min Aung Hlaing, the Burma Army’s Commander-in-Chief, cozying up to Suu Kyi’s National League for Democracy? And will it work?

Friday, May 6, 2016

Aung San Suu Kyi has had frosty relations with Japan because of Tokyo’s support for previous regimes. Now that she’s in charge, will that change?

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Aung San Suu Kyi’s diplomatic knowledge and skills will be tested by the complexity of both internal issues back home and current Southeast Asian politics.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

With the NLD government’s inauguration complete, Burma could witness fundamental changes and surprises as it adjusts to a different balance of power.

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

As cabinet nominees are announced, the powerful National Defense and Security Council could be nearly split between the NLD and military.

Page 1 of 1012345...10...Last »